Castle Rock : Valley in the Mist

Another look at old photos, this on was taken on 20th Feb 2011, 2 days before the Feb 22nd, Christchurch Earthquake. I was standing at a slope roughly 350m from the valley floor and roughly 600m from the epicentre, which was at Lyttleton. The view is overlooking Heathcote Valley, where the tunnel towards Lyttleton begins.

The weather was not permissible, the mist and clouds were covering most of the scenery. Though there were a few glimpses of landscape. I tried to make the best of the situation.

Castle Rock is a remnant of the the volcanic eruptions that created the Port Hills, Banks Peninsula and of course both of the Bays, Lyttleton and Akaroa. The rocks here have red pigments on it. I’m sure a geologist would know more about it. The area is currently close to tracking or traffic. This might be the last image I would take of the area from this vantage point.

I remembered that I had processed this image later that night but I couldn’t remember whether I had posted it online or not due to the earthquake 2 days later. So, after nearly 2 years, I re-processed it again and here it is….

Nikon D40, Nikkor 10-24mm

Nikon D40, Nikkor 10-24mm

I’m forever thankful to God, that there was no earthquake when I was at the edge of the cliff….

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in Landscape and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

