Macro (micro?) photography

I’m sure I’ve read somewhere why Nikon named their micro photography glasses as macro. But anyway, I’m not using Nikkor glass for my macro photography, I’m using an excellent Tokina 100mm f/2.8 Macro. But somehow, the image I’m getting from the lens is not as close as I want it to be. Example,

Dandelion
Nikon D700, Tokina 100mm f/2.8

So to get closer, I attached a Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D in front of the Tokina to get closer, I attached it using a 55>52mm adapter. This setup got me a 2x magnification (1:2)The working distance from the rear element was insane!! about 1cm….

But, I got a nice closer image.

Dandelion seed
Nikon D700, Tokina 100mm f/2.8 + Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D

And the details is enough for me to crop further.

Dandelion seed, cropped
Nikon D700, Tokina 100mm f/2.8 + Nikkor 50mm f/1.4

So, I’m quite satisfied with my current setup and now to get a few more nice samples.

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in Macro, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Macro (micro?) photography

  1. Nice! The hardest thing is getting sharp well lit shots. Look into extension tubes by Kenko, it will get you closer yet. Good luck.

    • Amryl Malek says:

      Hi Victor,
      Thanks for dropping by an commenting, I haven’t tried an extension tube yet. But as of now, the working distance is already less than 1cm. I’m not sure how close you have to be with an extension tube.

Leave a Reply

