Lake Ellesmere, Canterbury

Lake Ellesmere or in its Maori name Te Waihora, is the fifth largest lake in New Zealand, it is also the most polluted lake in New Zealand. Toxic algae is one of the common danger within its water.

Nevertheless, it is still one of the main watering area for various type of native birds and also migrating birds.

I went there today (for the second time actually, the first was last week) to take some photo of birds and a few landscapes. I brought along my 80-200mm f/2.8D. It’s an old lens, heavy and slow. Not one of the best telephoto lens out there. But it serve it’s purpose for me to get my reach.

Not quite sure what these birds are. But I still have to crop it to nearly 100%.

This is another one that I have to crop nearly to 100%. Maybe I need a 300mm f/4 to get a closer shot.

As I was going back, I saw this very nice warm sunset over a small sheep farm next to Lake Ellesmere, so I stopped my car next to the road and got a shot of it.

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in General Photography, Landscape, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lake Ellesmere, Canterbury

  1. apai says:

    Masyaallah cantiknya sunset!!

Leave a Reply

