Mt Herbert, Banks Peninsula

Went tramping to Mt Herbert last week with some friends of mine. It was a 7.6 km walk up the mountain slope to reach the 919m top. The day started in an overcast condition, and it only got worse as we got higher.

It was cold and wet when we reached the top. We only stop for half an hour at the top for some rest and to take what few photos that we can. We were basically in the clouds, so we can’t see much further than 10 meters at most. After half an hour we decided to start back down. Total journey was 14.2 km within 5 hr 30 mins.

I decided not to bring my DSLR and my set of lenses, since I’m afraid the weight of all the equipments will only drag me on my way to the top. So I only brought my Canon S90. A small and very dependable point n shoot, if I do say so myself. Though as with any point n shoot it does have it’s limitation. But as long as you understand the strengths and weaknesses of your equipment you will be able to maximised its potential. Below are 2 shots taken by the S90.

Banks Peninsula ridges, on top of Port Levy.

Clouds over Banks Peninsula

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in General Photography, Landscape and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

