I’m Back!

As you guys/gals know, I sent my Nikon D40 for sensor cleaning on Feb 21st. As God would have like it, on Feb 22nd, a shallow M6.3 earthquake struck Christchurch. Even though the magnitude of the earthquake was lower than last year’s 8.1, but due to the location and shallowness of the epicentre, the damaged done was tremendous. The Feb 22nd quake have taken hundreds of lives, destroyed hundreds of buildings, shattered the lives of thousands.

Amidst all of this, I’m thankful that my family and I survived the quake unharmed. This would be the third big quakes we’ve been through here in the beautiful city of Christchurch.

As of now, I’m unsure about the fate of my camera, since it’s in one of the cordoned off buildings in the city centre. I’ve been without a camera for more than a month. To temporarily replace my camera I bought a used Nikon D90, which I received yesterday. I’m still playing around with it to get to know how it “feels”. I suddenly realised how much ‘in-tune’ I was with my old Nikon D40. Now I’m learning all over again a “new” camera.

My Project 365 is on hold and I would have to restart all over again. I have to admit, the quake makes me feel jittery, and I don’t want to be too far away from my baby boy. So currently, I’m trying to get the nerve to venture further out and pushing my fears to the back of my mind.

Life goes on. But we’ll always be under a shadow of another quake. That’s the new normal.

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. Maggie Chong says:

    D90 is a pretty good choice. You’ll be able to take good quality videos with it. šŸ™‚

  2. I know the feeling of having to change cameras… the learning curve isn’t massive, but it just ‘feels’ different. The snap of the shutter, the feel of the trigger… it’s a little off putting! Look forward to seeing your shots going up again soon.

Leave a Reply

