Available Light and Portraiture

I love to take landscape shots.  And I think landscape photography would be the area of interest that I would like to master. But being a beginner in this, I would like to try everything out first before I really decide which area I want to specialize.

All this while, I took photos of people without really thinking about the lightings. To me as long as everything is expose properly, than that would be a reasonable shot. So, a couple of days back, I consciously tried using available light to take a portrait of my son. This is the result

Picture of my son

Using available light, I tried to sculpture my son portrait using shadow

The available light comes from a window with the shutter partial close to control the size of the light. I used spot metering on the lighter side of his face, but ubfortunately, there are some highlights near the side of his forehead.

So, what do you guys think?

p/s: He was reluctant to sign the model release!

 

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in Portraiture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Available Light and Portraiture

  1. michael2976 says:

    I would first like to say creat capture.
    do you shoot in Raw? if so you can white balance off of his shirt or the whit eof his eye.
    I usually use the white of my daughters eye to white balance because it iss allways white no matter the light. this I think will help balance the image.

    regards,
    Michael

  2. Amryl Malek says:

    Hi Michael,

    I do shoots in RAW and I’ll give the WB thing a try. I’ll post the edit once it’s done.

    Thanks for the visit and the tip.

    Regards,

    Amryl

Leave a Reply

