2011 Photography Resolution..No Wait…It’s Plan and Not Resolutions

WARNING!: THIS POST WILL BE LONG!!!

I don’t have any new year’s resolutions. I made a mistake of having one once, and it was a total disaster. Nothing came out of it. I didn’t achieved my resolution. I was not resolute enough, it seems! Anyway, this blog is not about resolutions, it is about my journey to find my vision in photography. It is somewhat a bit similar but different with what was mentioned in Photofocus yesterday

To do that, I would need a proper plan. But the problem with creating a plan for such a a thing as journey is often difficult. Since a journey, or in this sense a goal for a photographic vision is non quantifiable. It is a never ending journey with no definite end. And as such is almost impossible to define.

What is possible though, is for me to solidify one ephemeral attribute of a photographic vision. That attribute is uniqueness. What is uniqueness?, basically there are several definition of unique according to Merriam Webster,  but I think what is relevant would be the definition of 2 b), that is :

b : distinctively characteristic :

Distinctively characteristic. In this manner some photos are really easily identifiable with their creators, such as Clearing the Winter Storm by Ansel Adams, Rolling Stone cover of John Lennon and Yoko Ono by Annie Leibovitz to name a few. These few examples, shows that such attributes can be noticeable time and again. Therefore, I would say that for me to find my unique vision, it must be distinctively characteristic of my photo.

So, having said that, what are my 2011 plans to reach such a state?

My plan follows the S.M.A.R.T way, that is (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely)

I’m splitting the year into 2 halves. This plan will tackle the first half. This plan will look a bit like a manufacturing process, with inputs and outputs.

Inputs:

1. Will spend at least 10 hours a week to take photos

2. Will spend at least 10 hours a week to learn about photography (through reading, courses, seminars and such)

3. Will spend 10 hours a week to learn and improve my post processing skills.

4. Will join local photography clubs and also online groups

Outputs:

1. To produce 10 photos per week that are considered exceptional by my standard.

2. To present the best photo from the previous 10 to a group of critiques every week

3. To create a portfolio of 12 of the best photos within 6 months

4.  To start a project to produce and publish a photobook (will discuss the theme in later post)

Basically, I have presented a rough idea of my plan for the 1st half of the year on how I will reach my unique vision, by June this year, there will be a review of my plan and whether there would be major changes.

About Amryl Malek

A photographer on a journey to find his vision
This entry was posted in General Photography, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 Photography Resolution..No Wait…It’s Plan and Not Resolutions

  1. Wow, that’s an ambitious goal! 10 exceptional photos per
    week! I’d offer a word of caution; it sounds like burn-out waiting
    to happen. You’re getting some good shots already, and if you put
    in the time you’ll start getting more and more photos you like, but
    it’s difficult to force…

    • Amryl Malek says:

      Thanks for the advice :) I know 10 will be difficult to get, knowing myself I might be getting 2 or 3 per week. But I like to aim high, and see how many times I achieved it, and by 2nd half of the year, to review the goals.

Leave a Reply

